Input your search keywords and press Enter.

2019 Polls: Ponnam, Revanth in first Congress candidate list for Telangana

Telangana Congress Working President A Revanth Reddy (left) with party president Rahul Gandhi

Telangana Congress working presidents A Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar, both of who lost in the state assembly elections held in December, 2018 will contest Lok Sabha elections from Malkajgiri and Karimnagar, respectively

Battered by defections of its legislators, the Congress in Telangana on Friday, March 15 announced candidates for eight out of the state’s 17 Lok Sabha seats. The first list of candidates was announced after the names of the candidates were cleared by the party’s central leadership.

The party’s state unit Working Presidents Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar will contest from Malkajgiri and Karimnagar constituencies respectively. Both were defeated in state assembly elections held in December, 2018.

Sitting MP Konda Visweswar Reddy, who had defected to Congress from the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on the eve of assembly polls, will seek re-election from Chevella.

Porika Balram Naik, who lost to TRS in Mahabubabad in 2014, has once again been nominated from the seat.

The other candidates are Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad), A. Chandrashekhar (Peddapalli), Gali Anil Kumar (Medak) and Madan Mohan (Zaheerabad).

The candidates for remaining seats are likely to be announced today, March 16.

Polling in Telangana is scheduled in a single phase on April 11 in the first phase of the seven phase Lok Sabha polls.

With inputs by Team Lede

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *